5th & 6th Grade: October 5th-9th, 2015

Week 5

This week you will be finishing your 100 word stories. Remember that there are many learning targets being addressed here (see below). As long as you are working on the 100 word story challenge I will continue to make the deadline fluid and extended as needed.

You also have a google a day challenge in classroom to complete. Please remember to take your time on the google a day challenges. They take a considerable amount of time and effort and I have failed to see this the last two weeks. I understand some of your frustration in not knowing the answer, that is how these challenges were designed. In the real world, when faced with a situation in which you do know what to do it will be up to you to use your resources to solve the problem. That is exactly the goal of these challenges.

I would also like to take the time to remind students, and inform parents that due to a lack of equal access to the internet that the large majority of this class should be done at school and not at home.  Occasionally if a student is absent or has the desire to work on classwork outside of school is fine, however, students will be given adequate time in class to complete any requirements. If you have questions or concerns about this please email me or stop by the school so we can chat. 

Learning Targets:

100 word story

  • I can use keyboard shortcuts to cut, copy, and paste.
  • I can format a word document with paragraphs.
  • I can highlight and change the color of text in a word document.
  • I can use the right click on a mouse to define words and to spell them correctly.
  • I can use a hyperlink in a document to access a webpage.
  • I can use the internet to look up information and use it correctly in my writing (stories, research, correspondences, etc…).

Google A Day Challenges

  • I can search google efficiently.
  • I can copy and paste web URL’s into a word document and make them hyperlinks.
  • I can cite my sources.
  • I can evaluate a websites credibility.
  • I can use search operators (site: link: OR info: filetype:) to improve my searching skills.
  • I can use punctuation & symbols (- to exclude things, *as a placeholder, ..to see a range of numbers, #to find hashtags for trending topics, ” ” to include only exact phrases” and ~to find terms and their synonyms) to improve my searching skills.